top of page

2017-2018 Focus Staff


Part of the Focus Staff at Fish Camp

Senior Editor

Gracie Gilchriest, Junior

Senior Editor, Gracie Gilchriest

For those of you who are stalking the archives and thinking that surely I have managed to reach 5’ in my upperclassmen years, I am sorry to disappoint you that I am still 4’11 ¾. :D As my first year as Senior Editor, I am completely enthusiastic about leading the Focus team, discovering the talents that Silsbee High School has to offer, and showcasing them to the community. I will be a Junior this 2017-2018 school year, and I pray that I will get out of it alive. Along with honors classes, my year will be jampacked with being the captain of the Varsity Girls Cross Country team, a player on Varsity Soccer, and a typical noisy soprano in Varsity Choir. I am involved with many extracurricular activities, such as UIL Literary Criticism and Ready Writing, Key Club, Drama Club, the Junior Class Treasurer of Student Council, and my favorite Friday Night pastime as a Tiger Keeper. Outside of school activities, I take weekly voice lessons, and ballet and pointe classes at my dance studio. One of the reasons why the Focus Magazine is one of my favorite parts about Silsbee High School is the fact that it is a Silsbee High School tradition - my mom has written for it, my brother was Co-Senior Editor, and now it has gone full circle to me, and I pray that it continues on for many more generations. Being able to analyze the genuine writing of my classmates, and observe the astonishing artwork and photography is truly mesmerizing, and I thank God for being able to have a deeper appreciation for my comrades. Observing their work inspires me to want to pursue expressing myself in creative outlets, like writing, crafting, and drawing my special unicorn, Lena, because that is about as artistic as I get. :D Creative writing has truly always been a passion of mine, and I hope that I will be able to pursue that one day. I have a good feeling that this school year will be one for the magazine - hahaha get it. Magazine. Focus Magazine. Books. Haha.

Junior Editor

Paula Boothman, Senior

Junior Editor: Paula Boothman

Hey guys! I’m 17 and a senior this year. This is my fourth year in Focus (can you believe it?) and I’ve never been more excited for it. Truthfully, I only joined it my freshman year so that I could get on Mrs. Carrell’s good side. We’re still waiting to see if that actually worked, but in the meantime I’ve been having a blast with this club. I’ve made new friends, gone on some pretty amazing trips, and learned a little bit more about my writing style. Outside of Focus I participate in an abundance of activities. This year I have the honor of serving as head drum major for the band, and I made All State Band on the clarinet last year. Besides music, I am a member of National Honors Society, Key Club, UIL Ready Writing, UIL Science, Varsity Tennis, Varsity Soccer, Girl Scouts, and student council. Working my hardest in everything I do is the goal, but sometimes I can spread myself too thin with all of my extracurriculars. Outside of school, I love to read and listen to music. I don’t really prefer any type of literature or music over another, but my favorite book is The Night Circus and my favorite artist is Halsey. In what little spare time I manage to squeeze in, I play video games like Dragon age and Skyrim, and spend some much needed time with my friends and family. Most nights, when my life gets to be a little too much at times, my cat Oliver will come inside to cuddle with me. The majority of the time he’s sleeping while I’m the one actually doing homework, but he helps calm me down so I guess that’s okay. I can definitely get a little busy, but I thank God every day for giving me the motivation to accomplish so many things. I’m looking forward to my last year in Focus!

Hannah Hatton

Contest Manager

Contest Manager: Cambrie Root

Howdy everyone! If you didn’t know already my name is Hannah and this is my second year on Focus. I have just recently turned 17 and I have a brother who just started his freshman year so it’s all very exciting! Just a few things about me to share with you, I’ve been playing the clarinet for our amazing Fighting Tiger Band for about 5 years and counting, I have been playing soccer for the past 7 to 8 years and I am also on the Lady Varsity Soccer team here at the school so I am super excited for this upcoming season! I take photos for our Marching band, my youth group at my church and just for fun in my spare time (follow my photography page on Instagram @hphotography_5). I have recently been voted by my class to be represented for our Homecoming Court! In my spare time I love to hang out with friends and listen to music; my music type is all over the place but if i had to choose i love me some Indie and acoustics or even better Indie acoustics! I have joined Focus to help me “focus” on my writing skills as well as making new friends in the process. This club really helps you interact more with others as you get to see others work such as poems, drawings and stories.

Cambrie Root

Treasurer

Treasurer: Cambrie Root

Jayden Behling

Historian

Historian: Jayden Behling

Averie Hayes

Secretary

Secretary: Averie Hayes

Katie Camden

Questionnaire Manager

Questionnaire Manager: Katie Camden

My name is Katie Camden and this year I am a Junior at Silsbee High School. I play the piccolo in our school’s band, and am also the Junior class representative in Student Council. This is my first year in Focus and I am the Questionnaire Manager. I love music, books, my dog, and my cat. I am very excited for this school year and cannot wait to see what it holds.☺

Raina Harmon

Artist

Artist: Raina Harmon

Xavier Lewis

Writer

Xavier Lewis

Hi, I'm xavier lewis and I'm 10th grade. I love to dance! I do this thing in high school called winterguard. My favorite animal is a wolf. I joined Focus because I love interviewing people I always wanted to pursue interview people in the future. I love to meet new people! I love to play the piano, to draw, to sing, and I especially love to cook! I love helping the community, and I like to participate in school activities. I love designing clothes, and I go to church every Sunday and Wednesday.

Cody Camden

Writer

My names Cody. I love studying and reading books. I ball out on the soccer pitch with my brothers. I love focus club. I'm in FFA. ℅ 2018 ya dig?

Torrie Gore

Writer

Christian Rodriguez

Writer

Kairi Galvan

Writer

Eddie Powell

Writer

Chris Lemus

Writer

Geanda Guuidry

Writer

Jaydin Hatton

Writer

Lennie Mangindin

Writer

Nicole Duke

Writer

Nicole Duke

I’m Nicole Duke and I’m a current freshman at Silsbee High School. I am a member of the soccer team and focus magazine. I’m also a part of the ECHS program, as well as an A’ B’ honor roll student. I enjoy writing and playing sports in my free time.

Dr. Mary Wilson

Sponsor

Sponsor: Dr. Mary Wilson

Featured
bottom of page