top of page

2017-2018 SHS Boys Soccer

Cody Camden, Senior.

[Left to Right: Josh Buse, Cody Camden, Chris Lemus.]

  • Position

  • Defender.

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • For fun.

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • This is my fourth year.

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • Hangin with my bros.

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • It’s a new era.

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • A playoff berth and takin dubs.

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • Soccer has helped me move towards self actualization.

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • Chris Lemus.

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • My sister.

James Simer, Senior.

  • Position

  • defensive right back

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • 8th grade summer

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • about 5 years

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • The feeling of taking the ball up the field

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • We have a great team! A lot of potentional this year.

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • To make it to atleast second round

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • soccer has gotten me in shape and built a bond with the other players.

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • Coach bottoms or Brady or chris because they are always there to helpand i can always ask questions.

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • Emilee

Zach Hart. Senior.

  • Position

  • Right/ Left Backline

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • Friends encouraged me.

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • This is my first year.

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • The companionship.

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • Just to have fun playing soccer with my friends and play a sport I enjoy.

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • Commitment is a big part of my life so soccer has taught me further that commitment helps an individual get better rather than quitting and gaining nothing.

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • Coach Bottoms

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • Coach Bottoms

Eric Martin, Senior.

  • Position

  • Forward

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • I just grew up with it

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • 14 years

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • The feeling of scoring a goal

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • The entire team has been flipped on its head

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • Win Districts

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • My brain moves faster and I understand more how to deal with people. It also helps my anger flow without being stopped on the field.

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • My Dad, he has always been my coach, biggest supporter, and motivator

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • My Dad.

David Wright, Junior.

​[Left to Right: Coach Chris P. Bottoms, David Wright]

  • Position

  • Midfielder

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • I had fun messing around with my brother so I just started playing league.

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • 8 years

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • Scoring and celebrating with the team afterward

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • This year is our best year I’ve been here so far.

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • To make it deep into the playoffs

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • Yes very much so

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • Coach Bottoms

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • My parents

Holden Cravy, Junior.

  • Position

  • Midfield/Defense

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • It was one of the few sports i hadn't tried yet and many of my friends were playing it.

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • 4 years

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • The competitiveness out on the field and the hype and thrill you get when you score or when your team is doing good.

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • This year is very different than past year, in the sense that our team has more chemistry and we are more confident in one another and our playing ability. #NewEra

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • To make it to playoffs and more specific goals are to make it to the 3rd round of playoffs.

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • Become more of a team player in life as well as the sport and learned to do everything to the fullest and do it with heart

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • Coach Bottoms has definitely been a large influence on me because he has showed me how to play with 100% heart and never get down on one another, and love your teammates and coaches like they are your own brothers

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • My biggest supporters are my parents, who are always there for me and push me to be my best.

Kevin Camden, Sophomore.

  • Position

  • Goalkeeper.

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • Because I enjoyed it.

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • Since I was in 5th grade.

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • The fun times we have as a team and winning games.

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • We are definitely the best Silsbee boys soccer has been in years.

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • Make it to playoffs.

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • It has kept me busy and in good health.

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • My coaches have definitely been the best role models in my life.

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • My family.

Justin Dehart, Sophomore.

  • Position

  • Left Forward.

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • Because it was fun.

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • Since I was three.

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • When I play my mind is cleared automatically.

  • If you are someone that has played high school soccer before, how do you think this year compares to others?

  • This year we are doing good and everyone is keeping the intensity.

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • My hope for this year is that we will go undefeated in district and go far in playoffs.

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • I have been on many different select soccer teams

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • One of my coaches from my select team all ways pushed me to do my best even when i was down.

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • I do not have big supporter i have many, my whole family are my supporters.

Will Huggins, Freshman.

  • Position

  • Goalkeeper

  • Why did you start playing soccer?

  • Figured I would try something new

  • How long have you been playing soccer?

  • 4 years

  • What is your favorite part about soccer?

  • Everyone having to work together.

  • What were/are your hopes for this year?

  • To at least get to the first round playoffs

  • How have you improved as an athlete and a person since you have started playing soccer?

  • More adapt to rough conditions

  • Think about the people you have met through playing soccer. Who has influenced you the most and how?

  • Brady Carter, he has just encouraged me to just keep pushing hard when times are tough

  • Who is your biggest supporter?

  • My mom

Featured
bottom of page